Holiday Sweets

This is coming a bit late but “Happy 2012!”  Above is a Vasilopita cake I made for New Year’s eve.  It is a traditional greek cake served to celebrate the new year.  The cake is baked with a coin in the batter.  The coin is meant to bring good luck to the person who finds it in their slice of cake.  I had lots of fun eating this cake at 1am on January 1, 2012 with a group of good friends.

I added some coconut to the batter and sprinkled on top of the cake to add some crunch.  The cake.  The cake turned out quite dense and heavy, but I love the tradition behind it.  It definitely needed the chocolate writing on top…at least for my sweet tooth, everything is better with chocolate!

Vasilopita Recipe

To continue with some Greek holiday traditions I tried making Melomakarona cookies to snack on over the holidays.

One important lesson that I learned from this baking experiment is that these cookies do not rise.  I ended up with twice the amount of cookies because I assumed rolled the cookies on the smaller side assuming they would expand in the oven.

After baking these cookies take a honey syrup bath to make them moist and sweet. The recipe called for soaking the cookies for 3 minutes.  I found after 3 minutes they had only moistened around the surface so I let the cookies soak in a shallow syrup bath for a couple hours while I went out for dinner, it did the trick.

Melomakarona recipe

Lastly for a bit of fun we baked and decorated some Ninjabread men with a classic gingerbread recipe.

I think next time I will try to add little shells on their backs to make Ninja turtle bread men.

Leave a Reply

