Apple Crumble

I love easy sweet comfort food that can warm you up on a cold day.  I woke up on saturday to a chilly apartment and a city drenched by rain.  I decided it was a day to curl up on the couch under a blanket but I needed the right snack to keep me company.  A big bowl of apples in my kitchen made my decision easy.  Warm apple crumble is a cozy blanket in itself, it can warm you through your tummy and your heart.  The apples, spices and oats are so comforting, I could not stop eating.  It turned into the perfect winter saturday.

Recipe:

6 apples
6 tablespoons sugar
1 teaspoon cinnamon
2 teaspoons butter

Crumble:
4 teaspoons butter
1/2 cup brown sugar
1/2 cup flour
1/2 cup rolled oats

Peel and slice apples into greased baking dish, add lemon juice to sliced apples to avoid browning. Combine sugar and cinnamon and sprinkle over apples. Dot with two teaspoons of the butter. Blend the remaining four teaspoons of butter into brown sugar. Mix and add flour and rolled oats. Spoon mixture over apples. Bake at 350F for 15mins. Uncover and bake until crust is golden and apples are tender (approx. 35 minutes.)

One comment on “Apple Crumble

  1. I made your apple crumble today. So yummy. The only changes I made was to add chopped walnuts to the apples (I love walnuts, apples and cinnamon together!) and reduced the sugar cuz it’s good for me and I like apple-y things to taste tart. Thank you for the recipe, my old one was too complicated and I love the simplicity of yours. xo

Leave a Reply

