Dutch Boy Pancakes

I remember making dutch boy pancakes with my father on sunday mornings when I was still in single digits. I loved the bubbly crust on these pancakes.  They tasted so good drenched in the melted butter from the pan and then smothered in maple syrup.  My adult self is apprehensive about the effects of consuming that much butter and syrup.  Which is a reason to not make this mega pancake every weekend, but once and while can’t cause too much harm right?

I used whole wheat flour to try to make this recipe a bit more healthy….some things are not meant to be healthy.  The whole wheat flour made the pancake a bit dense.  It was not as fluffy or bubbly as I remember it being in my childhood memories maybe I just didn’t inherit my fathers talent for pancake baking.

Ingredients:

1/3 c. butter
4 eggs
1 c. flour
1 c. milk

Directions:  Preheat oven to 425 degrees. Put butter in 8 inch round cake pan and place in oven while oven is heating.

In blender, put 4 eggs. Turn on and blend for 1 1/2 minutes. While still whirling, pour in flour and milk. Blend another 30 seconds to 1 minute longer.

Pour batter into pan in oven, pouring slowly so melted butter is not on top of batter. Bake 20 minutes. Serve hot with powdered sugar and lemon juice or maple syrup.

One comment on “Dutch Boy Pancakes

  1. This looks yummy. Reminds me of something I used to eat in Germany. I have found that whole wheat pastry flour bakes up much lighter than regular whole wheat flour.

Leave a Reply

